Friday, February 02, 2007

Politics and government

Norristown has a ┬░manager/council form of government a seven-member municipal council. The office of mayor was abolished in July 2004 after a corruption scandal which led to the conviction of several borough officials and mayor Ted LeBlanc.

The municipality is part of the Sixth Congressional District (represented by Rep. Jim Gerlach), the 149th and 150th State House Districts (represented by Rep. Jay Moyer and Rep. Mike Vereb) and the 17th State Senate District (represented by Sen. Constance Williams).